Praxis
CCS Events
CCS Libraries
About CCS
CCS Projects
BRICS
CCS Highlights


Visiting Scholar information

CCS Visitors
Visiting Scholars may work with CCS for several months or up to a year. CCS provides Visiting Scholars with a temporary university access card, access to the UKZN library and the CCS resource centre, access to a computer and shared workspace, and a warm invitation to participate in all CCS events.

Since our resources, energies, time and space at CCS are limited, we ask that all Visiting Scholars give back to the Centre and South African civil society in the following ways:

  • Provide research proposal and CV before they come.

  • Deliver a paper at a CCS seminar (if seminar slots are available; other alternatives include circulating research to CCS staff via email, etc.). The paper may be made into a CCS Research Report where appropriate.

  • Agree to provide a copy of their Masters/PhD thesis and any publications produced during their time at the Centre.

  • Volunteer and 'give back' to civil society (existing links to organisations in relevant fields will be an advantage).

  • Attendance of the CCS seminar series and Harold Wolpe Memorial Lectures.


  • Please send a CV, research proposal, and budget (if applying for CCS funds) to Patrick Bond at bondp@ukzn.ac.za in order to apply. Applications are reviewed on a rolling basis. A team of CCS staff will evaluate your proposal from academic, civil society engagement (ie. how your research and activities here will give back to the sector), and logistical points of view. If your proposed research is not a good match with the Centre, we may be able to suggest other more suitable organisations for pursuing your research interests.

    Scholar activists from the Global South, especially South Africa and Africa, are strongly encouraged to apply.

    For more information on the Visiting Scholar programme, see the 'Centre Visitors' link on the CCS website (ccs.ukzn.ac.za).


    Centre Visitors



    Monica  Fagioli (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    fagim564@newschool.edu



    Emanuele  Leonardi  (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:



    Antonio  Mancini  (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:



    Christopher  Morris (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    morrisck@gmail.com




    Stephen  Murphy ( Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    stephenmurphysa@gmail.com




    Will  Nham (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:



    Percy  Nhau (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    percynhau@gmail.com



    Maria  Schuld ( Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    maria.schuld@googlemail.com




    Khadija  Sharife ()
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    ksharife@gmail.com



    Alexander  Todd (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:



    Claudia  Wegener  (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    long_walk_abridged@yahoo.co.uk



    Andrea-Teresa "Tess" Arenas (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    tarenas@ls.admin.wisc.edu




    Femi  Aborisade (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    aborisadefemi@yahoo.com




    Claire Adida (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number: 27 31 2602825
    Fax Number:
    cadida@stanford.edu




    Amanda Alexander (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number: 27 31 260 1412
    Fax Number: 27 31 260 2502
    alexandera@ukzn.ac.za




    Alex Beresford (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number: 27 31 2602825
    Fax Number:
    bezaweza@yahoo.co.uk




    Tehmina  Brohi (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:



    Carlos  Bruen  (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    carlos.bruen@ucd.ie




    Danielle Carter (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    carte165@msu.edu




    Kerry  Chance (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number: 260-1412
    Fax Number:
    chance@ukzn.ac.za




    Simone Claar  (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    simone.claar@gmail.com




    Michael Dorsey  (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    mkdorsey@professordorsey.com




    Graham Erion (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    graham@erion.ca




    Sebastiana Etzo (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    sebastianaetzo@hotmail.com




    Alan  Fowler (Adviser and Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number: 27 028 735 2174
    Fax Number: 27 028 735 2178
    alanfowler@compuserve.com




    Andréas  Godsäter (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    andreas.godsater@globalstudies.gu.se




    Filiberto  Gomez  (Past Visting Scholar)
    Phone Number: 27 31 2602825
    Fax Number: 27 31 2602502
    frijolefil@hotmail.com



    Kea  Gorden (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number: 31 076 532 5280
    Fax Number:
    kealynng@yahoo.com




    Sofie  Hellberg (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    sofie.hellberg@globalstudies.gu.se




    Amanda  Khan (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number: 27 31 2602917
    Fax Number: 27 31 2602502
    p99a6@unb.ca




    Minjung Kim (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    good21life@hanmail.net




    Joel Kovel (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:




    Schwarzanne Leafe (Visiting Scholar - Climate Researcher)
    Phone Number: 031 461 1991
    Fax Number:
    schwarzanne.leafe@gmail.com




    Hayley  Leck  (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    H.J.Leck@rhul.ac.uk




    Leonard Llewellyn (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    llewellyn.leonard@kcl.ac.uk




    Giuliano Martiniello (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    g.martiniello04@leeds.ac.uk




    Oliver  Meth (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number: 031 260 1412
    Fax Number:
    Metho@ukzn.ac.za




    Mvuselelo  Ngcoya (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    ubuntu73@yahoo.com




    Xin Wei Ngiam (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    xinwei.ngiam@gmail.com




    Pamela  Ngwenya (Postdoctoral Fellow)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    perichardson@gmail.com



    Smith Nicholas Rush  (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    nrsmith@uchicago.edu



     Peter McKenzie (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:



    Chene  Redwood (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:



    Janis  Rosheuvel (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:



    R. Sophie  Statzel (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    sstatzel@gmail.com



    Nisha  Thapliyal (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number: 27 31 2602825
    Fax Number:
    nthapliyal@yahoo.com




    Shannon Walsh (Past Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    shannondawnwalsh@gmail.com




    Kristine Wasrud (Visiting Scholar)
    Phone Number:
    Fax Number:
    wisswass@hotmail.com



    Philisa Zibi (Assistant Researcher)
    Phone Number: 27 31 260 1506
    Fax Number:
    zibi@ukzn.ac.za





    |  Contact Information  |  Terms of Use  |  Privacy