CCS Events
CCS Libraries
About CCS
CCS Projects
CCS Highlights

Shauna Mottiar delivers paper on popular protest in South Africa, Oxford University, 26 April

1994-2014: 20 years of South African Democracy Programme Outline

Thursday 24th April 2014

09.00-18.00 Day-long Roundtable Session on Provincial Government organised by the Gauteng Provincial Legislature (Core Business Division) & African Studies Centre, University of Oxford | Gateway Pavilion Seminar Room

18.00-19.30 Informal supper St. Antony’s College for panelists in Oxford & launch of Hugh Macmillan’s The Lusaka Years (Jacana) and Busani Ngcaweni Liberation Diaries: Reflections on 20 Years of Democracy (Jacana) | Dining Hall, St. Antony’s College (TBC)

20.00-22.00 Performance of Matthew Hahn’s Robben Island Bible with reception hosted by Brand South Africa | Nissan Lecture Theatre/CCR (TBC)

Friday 25th April 2014

8.30-9.00 Registration | Ground Floor, Hilda Besse Building, St. Antony’s College.

9.00-10.30 Session I
History in Post-apartheid South Africa (Nissan Lecture Theatre): W. Beinart, C. Bundy, S. Dubow, J. Saul.
Crime & Violence I (Gateway Pavilion Seminar Room) S. Jensen, G. Kynoch, K. von Holdt. Chair: J. Steinberg.
Public Policy I (Dahrendorf Room) W. Attwell, T. Luescher-Mamashela, M. Shangase.
South Africa & Africa (Fellows Dining Room) O. Adesina, TBC, TBC.
Culture (Deakin Room) L. Gunner, L. Whittaker, TBC Chair: K. Easton.

10.30-11.00 Coffee/Tea & biscuits | Buttery

11.00-12.30 Session II
New South Africa Review 4 Panel (Nissan Lecture Theatre) R. Southall et al.
*Those looking to attend this session are requested to e-mail
The Constitution & State Institutions (Gateway Pavilion Seminar Room) R. Calland, J.February, F. Venter. Chair: J. Robinson.
South African Foreign Policy (Fellows Dining Room) D. Bargueno, M. Graham, J.Siko Chair: R. S. de Oliveira.
HIV/AIDS & Citizenship (Dahrendorf Room) R. Lee, H. MacGregor, E. Mills. Chair: J. Steinberg.

12.30-13.30 Lunch | St. Antony’s College Dining Hall

13.40-15.10 Keynote Address by Deputy President Kgalema Motlanthe with introduction by RSA High Commissioner to the UK | Nissan Lecture theatre w/video link to Fellows Dining Room & Gateway Pavilion Seminar Room.

15.20 – 16.50 Session III
Public Opinion & Political Parties
(Nissan Lecture Theatre) D. Everatt, Y. Rodny-Gumede, C. Schulz-Herzenberg. Chair: S. Mac Giollabhuí.
Law & Nation-building (Gateway Pavilion) J. Daniel, M. Du Plessis, C. Murray. Chair: C. Jenkins.
Environmental Policy (Fellows Dining Room) C. Death, D. Lavin, M. Ramutsindela. Chair: D. Simon.
Urban Life & Housing (Deakin Room) I. Makukule, A. Mosselson, TBC.

16.50-17.10 Tea/Coffee break | Buttery

17.10-18.40 Session IV
Constitutional Court (Nissan Lecture Theatre) H. Corder, H. Lucas, T. Roux.
ANC as Organisation II (Gateway Pavilion Seminar Room) A. Beresford, I. Cooper, TBC.
Homelands & Traditional Authorities I (Fellows Dining Room) A. Ainslie & T. Kepe, M. Hay, J. Hickel.
Youth (Deakin Room) A. Akpome, A. Garman, A. Heffernan.

18.50-20.00 Conference Dinner | St. Antony’s College Dining Hall

20.10- 21.45 Plenary Session Professor Adam Habib, Tony Leon, Professor Xolela Mangcu. Chair: J. Steinberg. | Nissan Lecture Theatre

Saturday 26th April 2014

8.30-9.00 Registration

9.00-10.30 Session I

ANC as Organisation I (Nissan Lecture Theatre) A. Butler, M. Bogaards, S. Mac Giollabhuí. Chair: M. Lipton.
Crime & Violence II (Gateway Pavilion Seminar Room) A. Collins, R. Matzapolous, S. Mathis.
Minorities & Transition (Fellows Dining Room) W. Attwell & C. Saunders, D. Conway & P.Leonard, D. van Zyl-Hermann.
Gender & Citizenship (Deakin Room) A. Goebel, R. Johnson.

10.30-11.00. Coffee/Tea & Biscuits | Buttery

11.00-12.30 Session II
ANC in office: Economic Policy (Nissan Lecture Theatre) W. Gumede, R.W. Johnson, C. Ngcobo. Chair: S. Mac Giollabhuí.
Public Policy II (Gateway Pavilion Seminar Room) R. Hodes; X. Mangcu; B.Ngcaweni, L. Matemba, L. Lenstoane.
Homelands & Traditional Authorities II (Dahrendorf Room) T.Gibbs, A. Manson, O.Zenker.
Non-Racialism (Fellows Dining Room) D. Everatt, I. Filatova, M. Kustenbauder.

13.00-14.00 Lunch | St. Antony’s College Dining Hall

14.00-15.30 Session III
Popular Protest (Nissan Lecture Theatre) S.Mottiar & T. Lodge, F. Rueedi, D. Zelenova.
ANC and Consolidation of Democracy (Gateway Pavilion Seminar Room) P. Bonner, S. Hurt, N. de Jager. Chair: S. Mac Giollabhuí.
PARI: New Perspectives on the South Africa State (Dahrendorf Room) I. Chipkin, S. Meny-Gibert/N. Morgan, R. Brunette.
Land & Land Reform (Fellows Dining Room) W. Beinart, R. Hall, TBC.

15.30-16.00 Coffee/Tea & Biscuits | Buttery

16.00-17.30 Session IV
2014 Election Panel (Nissan Lecture Theatre) A. Butler, J. Robinson, C. Schulz-Herzenberg, R. Southall.
Parliament & Institutions (Gateway Pavilion Seminar Room) K. Ahmed, L. Matemba, V. Njokweni.
State & Civil Society (Fellows Dining Room) S. Cross, P. Dexter & W. Seale, E. Sutherland.
Homelands & Traditional Authorities III (Dahrendorf Room) D. Skosana, E. Mavungu L. Phillips.

17.30-18.30 Tim Gibbs Mandela’s Kinsmen & John S. Saul (& P. Bond) South Africa: The Present as History James Currey; Roger Southall et al. New South Africa Review 4 & Adam Habib’s South Africa’s Suspended Revolution WITS University Press | Book Launches | Location TBC

18.45-19.45 Reception (drinks & canapés) | Combined Common Room (CCR)

20.00-21.45 Closing Session
The ANC, Capital & Labour (Nissan Lecture Theatre) Professor Adam Habib, Professor Jeremy Seekings, C. Coleman. Chair: W. Beinart.

21.45 Close of Conference

|  Contact Information  |  Terms of Use  |  Privacy